Weighing In on Lana Del Rey

I am so confused by “Lana Del Rey”.

I really want to like her. I really do. She’s got it all – a gorgeous image, an interesting voice, and a fairly reputable label. However, there’s something I can’t quite put my finger on that makes me feel like it might not all be… it. Is it the fact that I’ve been reading about her on the Internet trying to figure it/her out for a few hours? Is it as simple as a “gut feeling”? I couldn’t tell you myself. I guess it’s because Lana Del Rey can’t be categorized into an iTunes genre. She’s simply a little bit of everything. And, again, it’s confusing.

Her album comes out tomorrow in the US, but I couldn’t help myself. I spent an hour or so today searching Tumblr for uploaded tracks. After listening to what must be the entire album, I was even more confused. As I said above, the genres are hip hop/pop/indie-pop influenced and heavily¬†produced. I used to be under the impression that Del Rey was some totally formulated radio pop star, but her voice is too sultry and her lyrics almost a bit too fucked up for the mainstream. I will say that her live performances totally suck, but she knows it and she’s said it herself. She’s a studio artist, a beautiful voice, and an interesting character.

I think in the end, I’ll have to wait and see what I think about this persona that is Lana Del Rey. She’s at the beginning of her career. Who knows what can happen. Artists evolve. She’s not done yet.

With that, check out my favorite track on her album, Radio.

If you’re not familiar with all of the Lana Del Rey debauchery, take a look at this Spin article that describes her history fairly decently. Try to see past their fairly obvious feelings on her:

http://www.spin.com/articles/deconstructing-lana-del-rey?page=0%2C0

Check out her album tomorrow and let me know what you think!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

